The Emirate of Dubai

Dubai is one of the seven emirates that make up the UAE. It is located on the southeast coast of the Arabian Gulf. Located between 25°16′ North and 55°18′ East, Dubai stretches along the Arabian Gulf coast for 72 km and has a total area of 3,900 square kilometers. Dubai shares borders with Abu Dhabi in the south, Sharjah in the northeast, and the Sultanate of Oman in the southeast.

According to the 2013 census conducted by the Statistics Centre of Dubai, the population of Dubai is approximately 2,269,000. The emirate of Dubai has the highest population density in the UAE and enjoys rich cultural diversity with over 200 nationalities.

Dubai’s landscape is a combination of sandy desert and shallow shores and coral reefs. The waters of Dubai are home to more than 300 species of fish. Historically, the rich marine life of Dubai has provided its inhabitants with a considerable source of income.

Dubai Creek is one of Dubai’s major landmarks and has played an important role in the commercial growth of Dubai. Serving as a natural harbor, the Creek divides the city into two main sections; Deira and Bur Dubai.

Dubai is thought to have been established as a fishing village in the 18th century. In 1833, the Al Maktoum dynasty established the Emirate of Dubai, and Sheikh Maktoum bin Butti Al Maktoum became the Ruler of Dubai.

 

The Government of Dubai

In his capacity as Ruler of Dubai, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum presides over the Government of Dubai.

The Dubai Government is composed of various departments, authorities and executive establishments functioning under the umbrella of the Dubai Executive Council. Crown Prince of Dubai His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum is the Chairman of the Council, and Deputy Ruler of Dubai His Highness Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum is the First Deputy Chairman.

The Council is responsible for drafting and overseeing the implementation of general policies of Dubai, taking necessary measures for the enforcement of federal laws, revising and approving draft laws and decrees before submission to the Ruler, preparing the annual budget of the Government of Dubai, developing and implementing Dubai’s strategic plans, establishing and organizing government entities and monitoring government performance.

 

For more information, please visit:

http://www.tec.gov.ae/tec/

 

Global business hub

Dubai is one of the world’s fastest growing cities and a global hub for commerce and business.

Due to its strategic geographical location and exceptional infrastructure, Dubai has emerged as a prominent city in global trade connecting the markets of the East and the West.

In addition to its highly efficient hard infrastructure, Dubai has established a robust soft infrastructure to serve the requirements of international businesses. Dubai’s economic policies and legislative framework have contributed to providing a highly attractive environment for international corporations. Home to more than 20,000 international companies, Dubai is leading the entire Gulf region to a new phase of economic prosperity.

Partnership with the private sector is one the main pillars of Dubai Government’s strategy for achieving sustainable economic development. Over the years, this partnership has facilitated the participation of local and international companies in the emirate’s growth and enabled the government to develop and maintain strong relations with business communities both within the country and across the world.

Apart from trade, tourism is another sector that is vital to Dubai’s economy. Dubai has effectively leveraged its natural attractions to bring growing numbers of tourists. To meet growing demand, Dubai has developed extensive world-class hospitality and tourism facilities. Dubai has a special focus on family tourism, and aims to be the world’s and the region’s family tourism capital.

The aviation sector also plays a significant role in Dubai’s economy. Dubai airports rival the world’s largest and oldest airports. Since its establishment in 1960, Dubai International Airport has registered an annual average growth of 15%. The airport was the 7th busiest airport in the world, handling 70.4 million passengers in 2014. The airport is also the busiest airport in the world for international passenger traffic. The Al Maktoum International Airport, which started operating in 2013, is set to be the largest airport in the world upon completion with five runways, four terminal buildings and capacity for 160 million passengers and 12 million tons of cargo.

Emirates Airline is the national airline of Dubai. Currently, Emirates operates 230 airplanes serving 140 destinations in 80 countries across six continents.

Dubai’s development projects are not limited to the economy. Guided by the leadership’s belief that human capital is the cornerstone of any civilization, the Government invests considerably in education, healthcare, culture and community development. The welfare and happiness of its people remain at the heart of Dubai’s strategic plans.

إمارة دبي

دبي هي إحدى الإمارات السبع المكوّنة لاتحاد "دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة". تقع إمارة دبي على الساحل الشرقي لشبه الجزيرة العربية فى الركن الجنوبي الغربي للخليج العربي، بين دائرة عرض 25 درجة و16 دقيقة شمالاً، وخط طول 55 درجة و16 دقيقة شرقاً، وبطول يناهز 72 كيلومتراً، ومساحة تبلغ 3900 كيلومتر مربع؛ أي ما يعادل خمسة بالمائة من مساحة دولة الإمارات. تحدّ دبي غرباً إمارة أبوظبي وشرقاً إمارة الشارقة، وتمتد جنوباً لتلامس حدود سلطنة عُمان.

يبلغ عدد سكان الإمارة بحسب تقديرات نهاية عام 2013 (2.269.000) نسمة كأكبر إمارة تعداداً للسكان في الاتحاد الإماراتي (مركز دبي للإحصاء) ويتميز مجتمعها بالتنوع الثقافي الكبير، إذ يعيش فيها إلى جوار مواطني الدولة جاليات ما يقرب من 200 جنسية مختلفة.

تشكل ثنائية اليابسة والبحر ملامح التضاريس الرئيسة لدبي، إذ تتسم المياه الإقليمية للإمارة بضحالتها وكثرة الشعاب المرجانية فيها، ما جعلها مصدراً غنياً للرزق بالنسبة لسكان المنطقة الذين اتخذوا البحث عن اللؤلؤ مهنة في فترة تاريخية مبكرة، علاوة على قيمة مياه الخليج كمصدر مهم للثروة السمكية.

يُعد "خور دبي" أحد المعالم الرئيسية في المدينة‘ إن لم يكن أهمها، لكونه الميناء الطبيعي الذي قامت عليه في الأصل تجارة مدينة دبي التي يقسمها الخور إلى قسمين؛ جنوبي يُسمى "بر دبي"، وآخر شمالي يُسمى "ديره".

ويعود أول استقرار للسكان في دبي إلى العام 1799، بينما تم تأسيس إمارة دبي تحت قيادة آل مكتوم عـام 1833 مع تولي الشيخ مكتوم بن بطي آل مكتـوم مقاليد الحكم فيها.

حكومة دبي

يرأس حكومة دبي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء، رعاه الله، بصفته حاكماً للإمارة.

يتشكل الهيكل التنظيمي لحكومة دبي من دوائر وهيئات ومؤسسات تنفيذية وخدمية تباشر أدوارها بتنسيق وتناغم كامل من خلال مظلة المجلس التنفيذي للإمارة، الذي يترأسه سمو الشيخ حمـدان بن محمد بن راشـد آل مكتوم، ولي عهد دبي، وبمتابعة سمو الشيخ مكتوم بن محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب حاكم دبي. 

يتولى المجلس التنفيذي رسم السياسة العامة لإمارة دبي والإشراف على تنفيذها، واتخاذ التدابير اللازمة لتطبيق القوانين الاتحادية، وكذلك دراسة وإقرار مشروعات القوانين والمراسيم المحلية قبل رفعها إلى صاحب السمو الحاكم، وإعداد الميزانية السنوية لحكومة دبي، وتطوير وتنفيذ وتحديث الخطة الاستراتيجية لإمارة دبي، وإقرار الخطط والاتفاقيات المتعلقة بالإمارة، إضافة إلى إنشاء وتنظيم الإدارات والأجهزة الحكومية ومراقبة سير العمل وفق الخطط الموضوعة. 

http://www.tec.gov.ae/tec/

 

حاضرة الاقتصاد

وتحظى دبي بمكانة خاصة كإحدى أسرع مدن العالم نمواً وتطوراً، وأهلها لتلك المكانة رصيد وافر من المشاريع العملاقة التي رسخت موقعها كمركز عالمي للمال والأعمال.

فبفضل المقومات الطبيعية التي حاباها الله بها، بما في ذلك الموقع الجغرافي المتوسط في قلب العالم، وبنيتها التحتية القوية وعالية الاعتمادية، تحولت دبي إلى نقطة لقاء محورية لخطوط التجارة العالمية الرابطة بين شرق العالم وغربه.

وعلاوة على البنية التحتية عالية الاعتمادية، نجحت دبي في إرساء بنية أساسية تشريعية تميزت بالمرونة والقدرة على تلبية متطلبات مجتمع الأعمال العالمي، حيث ساهمت تلك التشريعات في إيجاد بيئة اقتصادية ثرية وجاذبة، شجعت كبريات المؤسسات العالمية الساعية إلى تأسيس وجود لها في المنطقة على المبادرة بإقامة مقارها الإقليمية في دبي، لتكون بذلك المدينة نقطة إشعاع اقتصادي وحضاري قوي للمنطقة.

 

واعتمد نهج التنمية الذي تبعته حكومة دبي على سلسلة من المبادئ المهمة ربما من أبرزها مبدأ الشراكة الذي أقرته بين القطاعين الخاص والعام، ففتحت بذلك المجال رحباً أمام مؤسسات القطاع الخاص المحلية والعالمية للمشاركة في إرساء أسس النهضة الشاملة في مختلف أرجائها، وتمكنت من بناء شبكة من العلاقات القوية القائمة على الثقة والاحترام المتبادل مع مجتمع الأعمال الدولي الذي وجد في دبي ضالته المنشودة كبيئة آمنة تتوافر فيها كل مقومات النمو المرجوّة، وشريكاً جديراً بالثقة والاحترام.

ويُنظر للسياحة على أنها أحد أهم روافد دبي الاقتصادية إلى جانب قطاع التجارة المرتبط تاريخياً بدبي، حيث نجحت الإمارة في توظيف مقومات الجذب الطبيعية التي منحها الله تعالى إياها والترويج لها عالمياً بصورة ممنهجة، ما مكّنها من استقطاب أعداد متزايدة من السائحين العرب والأجانب سنوياً ومن كافة أرجاء العالم، ليصاحب هذا النمو، زيادة مماثلة في أعداد المنشآت والمرافق الفندقية والخدمية والسياحية لمواكبة الطلب المطرد ولتلبية مختلف أذواق ومتطلبات زوارها الذين يقصدونها طوال شهور السنة سواء للعمل أو لقضاء عطلاتهم. وتمنح دبي قطاع السياحة العائلية اهتماما خاصا حيث تسعى إلى تبوؤ مكانة متميزة كعاصمة للسياحة العائلية في المنطقة والعالم. 

ويعد قطاع الطيران من أهم القطاعات الاقتصادية في دبي، حيث أضحت مطاراتها منافساً قوياً لأكبر مطارات العالم وأعرقها تاريخاً. فإجمالي أعداد المسافرين عبر "مطار دبي الدولي" حقق زيادة مطردة منذ افتتاحه في عام 1960، بلغ متوسطها 15% سنويا، ليصل عدد المسافرين إلى نحو 69 مليون مسافر في عام 2014، ليتصدر بذلك قائمة أكثر مطارات العالم ازدحاما بالمسافرين. أما "مطار آل مكتوم" الذي بدأ تشغيله في أكتوبر 2013، فمن المنتظر أن تصل طاقته الاستيعابية الكلية إلى 160 مليون مسافر ومناولة 12 مليون طن من البضائع سنوياً مع اكتمال جميع مراحله.   

وتمتلك إمارة دبي واحدة من أقوى شركات الطيران في العالم والتي تنافس دائما على المراكز الأولى في مجالها، حيث يصل عدد طائرات أسطول "طيران الإمارات" إلى 230 طائرة وتسيّر رحلاتها إلى حوالي 140 وجهة سفر ضمن 80 دولة حول العالم. وسلجت "طيران الإمارات" رقما قياسيا عالمياً بأكبر طلب مشتريات للطائرات في تاريخ الطيران المدني بإجمالي 100 مليار دولار وذلك خلال مشاركتها في معرض دبي الدولي للطيران في العام 2013.   

 ولم تقتصر نهضة دبي على القطاع الاقتصادي، بل كان الاهتمام بالقطاعات الحيوية الأخرى حاضرا في كافة الأوقات، حيث لقيت قطاعات التعليم والصحة والثقافة والتنمية الاجتماعية اهتماما مماثلاً، كانت ثمرته نمو مواز على كافة تلك المحاور، انطلاقاً من قناعة القيادة الرشيدة في دبي بأن الاستثمار في الإنسان هو الركيزة الأولى للتنمية، وأن سعادته هي الطاقة التي تدفع عجلة التطوير دائما إلى الأمام.